baby maybe someday
December 12, 2003 A list of boring things, part 2.

Today, we have convenient list form for all my random thoughts!

1.OMG! I so totally love this weather. It's been all sunny and poopy the past week or so, but today it's dark and rainy and I wish it would be like this all the time, I really do. So pretty!

2. I am really craving a burrito right now from my former place of employment. There's two of those places in Austin. I don't want to go to the one where I worked because that's just lame. "Oh look, the girl who got "laid off" is coming back for a burrito! How sad." Yeah, I don't want to do that. And I worked at the other place for about a week 2 months ago, and I'm pretty sure nobody would recognize me, but if they did I'd have to be like, "Yeah, I don't really work here anymore," and that's lame too.

So I will just have to go without the burrito.

*sigh*

3. Oh wow! THUNDER! Is it wrong of me to be totally turned on by that?

4. I am currently a bit obsessed with the song "Behind Blue Eyes" by Limp Biskit. I don't know why. Also, "It's My Life" by No Doubt. I especially love the video. There's just something about Gwen Stefani.

And just for the record, I do realize that both of these songs are covers. Thank you.

5. I did quite a few reviews last night, and I feel I need to comment on society now.

These little 13 and 14 year old girls are doing such crazy things with their bodies and boys and alcohol and drugs and it scares me. It seriously does. I am thinking about the future, and the future of my own kids that I will eventually have. How do you raise kids so they don't grow up to be all bitter against society and they don't rebel by being anorexic and cutters and shit?

This really bothers me. That's all I'm thinking about when I'm reviewing, the future of my own kids. I realize that in 20 years when my kids are this age, maybe things would have changed. Or maybe they would have gotten worse.

I mean, I wasn't so great when I was 13. I was shoplifting and trying to get felt up by boys while my mom and dad were in the next room. But I didn't take it to the extreme like some of these kids I'm reviewing.

It just worries me. Bah!

6. Next week I really need to step it up with the whole job looking thing. I looked on a couple of different websites this week for Dallas stuff and I found a lot of things I might actually be qualified for, so I need to get all my clips and other crap together so that I don't spend another 3 months in Dallas looking for a job. That would be bad.

I should be looking today, but my excuse is that it's raining and I don't want to drive to the workforce center in it. That's wrong on so many levels. But what can you do sometimes? It's a Friday!

7. Joey and I are going to see Stuck on You tonight. I like Joey. But he's a bit of a drug person, and I'm really not a bit of a drug person.

After my whole "wrong crowd" experience of my early teens, I've generally hung out with people who aren't into the drug thing, and I like that. Like, Matt. First of all, he was totally surprised when we first started talking that I didn't do drugs. I don't know why he was so surprised, but he was. I kinda liked that, actually.

And he's only smoked pot once, before we even met. He didn't like it.

I'm not really sure why I'm talking about this, so I'll shut up now. For the record, I tried pot once on my 19th birthday, but I don't think I had any significant affects from the whole thing.

8. Mmmm, rain.

9. Tomorrow I'm going to San Antonio to start my Christmas shopping. San Antonio is an hour away, and Austin has perfectly fine shopping amenities, but I just feel like going there anyway. I can explore San Antonio. I always get lost in San Antonio, and I like getting lost. It's all very exciting.

My mom thinks I'm crazy, though. She really doesn't want me to go. She even broke out the "I don't know, I just have a bad feeling about you going there." Which makes me not want to go because motherly intuition is a powerful thing, but I'm going anyway, and I'm just not going to tell her about it.

I'm such a great daughter.

10. Now that I've bored you all to death, I think that's about it. Yay.

If it matters, I was also boring the crap out of everyone a year ago. See below.

*****

a year ago...

"Here, just for you, my minions, is a little piece of what I have to read for my upcoming earth science test. I mean, with shit like this, how can anyone not find soil fascinating?

"You kneel down and scoop a handful of prairie soil, compressing it and breaking it apart with your fingers. You are holding a historical object - one that bears the legacy of the last 15,000 years, or more. This lump of soil contains information about the last ice age and interventing warm periods, about distinct and distant source materials, and about several physical processes. We are using and abusing this legacy at rates much faster than it formed. Soils do not reproduce, nor can they be recreated."

Kinda brings a tear to your eye, doesn't it?



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004