baby maybe someday
2003-07-24 A big bunch of poo.

Hi party people.

*takes a deep breath*

Let's get the obligatory work chatter over with because it's just inevitable that I'm going to tell you about the 2 hour phone call I got today anyway.

THE TWO HOUR PHONE CALL... OF DEATH

I don't know why this call was 2 hours, and I do know that we got nothing accomplished. Eventually we got a supervisor involved, eventually the supervisor got the service manager at the dealership involved, eventually there was mass chaos and I'm still trying to recover. It was stupid, it was ignorant people, and I'm making a new rule: If a female ever calls me again at work, I'm hanging up. Females are BRUTAL! Guys are nice, they give me a chance to explain, and usually when I tell them no, they're okay with it. Females are harsh, they don't take no for an answer, they go completely insane, and I just don't want to do it anymore. No more females. Boys for me. All the way.

It's for sure going to mess with my handling time, which is a shame. It's the only good stat I have going for me. As my team manager said yesterday, I "look good on paper" but otherwise suck on the phone.

And the quality people, they randomly choose calls to listen to. They chose to listen to the call where I told this guy that I thought his car might be haunted. Tip to aspiring Customer Service slaves: Don't do that. It's not "professional." And apparently people at work like you to be professional.

I am starting to have fun at work, though. I seriously am making friends with everyone, joking around with people, having good times. I can dig it.

*exhales*

Anyway. Now that we have that over with.

This weekend, I'm actually going to have a social life. I'm actually going to do stuff with other people on every night. Tomorrow night I'm going to hang out with Joey, my brother's ex. He said that Joey told him I don't ever call him anymore (I never called him in the first place, so I don't really know what anymore means) and that he's lonely. Well, we live in the same apartments and we share a passion for movies, so we might as well hang out. I'm also going to hang out with my friend Pam on Saturday night. She's really quite groovetastic, and I feel like she could really be one of those lifelong friends types of things. And that is good.

Of course, I'd rather have a whole day just to go out and spend large quantities of money that my dad has decided to give me for no apparent reason like the spoiled little beyotch I am. But I guess I have to get out there and be social because that's what normal people do, and I have to embrace the fact that I'm actually and truly making friends here. I have to get over that whole "I'd rather be by myself" mindset that I've fallen in love with over the past couple of years.

Fun, yes?

I am listening to Matt's radio show right now, and it's good stuff. He's a talented boy, my Matt. Oooh, a shout out! He's all like, "I went to the restaurant with my date Elizabeth." That's me! HE ACKNOWLEDGED THAT I EXIST! A BREAKTHROUGH HAS BEEN HAD!

Urrm, but I digress.

I miss him! I haven't seen him in 4 days! But he said he might come up here in the next couple of weeks, so that would be cool. Long distance relationships do not equal ratings.

In another completely different tangent, I went to church last night and was moved, as usual. I needed that.. I needed to be reminded of why I go to church in the first place. Someday I'm going to get into this spiritual thing, really. And on another friends-related subject, I was all about the friends last night. I was saying hi to everyone, left and right, all over the place. People know me. People want to hang out with me.

So on the surface, things seem really great, actually. I have a stable job, I have some money, my dad is about to get me a new car to replace my piece of shit Rav-4, my man is giving me shout outs on his radio show, I'm finally making a name for myself in Austin, but there's still the issues on the inside that I'm badly neglecting. Why did I have pizza today? Why did I have Butterfinger today? Why am I making major plans for spending all my money this weekend when I can save it for when I really need it?

I have issues, and I'm ignorning them. I'm not paying attention, I'm not sitting down and pondering the major issues at hand here. I'm procratinating, pushing them back, refusing to really think about it. That's bad. I really need to focus because I do have problems that need to be fixed before I can go forth and truly conquer life in general.

So yeah. That's pretty much it. I'm gonna go do some such now. But first, here's a few random thoughts:

1. I had some kind of weird deja vu event at Subway today. For the past 3 times I've gone to this particular Subway, a policeman has always been behind me in line. Not the same one, and not the same kind of police. Today it was a police trainer. The day before was a sherrif. WHAT DOES THIS MEAN! I brought it up to the cashier because I was just feeling chatty today, and he in turn told the police trainer woman, and she's like, "Why, do you have a guilty conscience about something?" And I'm all like.. uhh.. ? Plus, when I sat down to eat I realized I was sitting in the exact same place I sat on Tuesday, and the exact same people that were sitting there on Tuesday were sitting there today. I was like.. uhhh? Anyway. I suck.

2. Also, I have to say this because it's a mystery to me: The same car has been sitting in the exact same place for the whole 7 months that I've lived here. It has never moved. Why is it just sitting there? Why? Why, God, Why?

3. One guy actually told me today that his repairs were not done to his "satisfication"... I just love people. They are so entertaining.

*****

What was Liz doing a year ago?

"So last night I had one of my infamous erotic teacher dreams. This time the teacher in question was my sociology teacher. Since I am my dream's bitch, I have no choice but to have some kind of crush on him. My dreams have dictated who my crushes will be a lot in the past, and it's really kind of creepy and annoying, to tell you the truth.

But I went to class today and I didn't have any erotic desire to jump him while he was talking about sex roles. So screw you, dreams! Muahahaha!"

What was Liz doing 2 years ago?

"I kinda zone out when I'm walking around the track. I could think about the events of the day, but instead I focus on how many laps I'm going to do today. And I look at the other people and spy on their conversations. This one couple that I've seen a few times kind of have a game going on to see how many laps they can do. My boyfriend and I are the total antithesis of that. We have a game going to see how many pieces of pizza we can eat, or who can sleep the longest."

and...

"I am playing Scrabble, and you know what I think? I think "ZUA" should be a word. So now it is. What does it mean?

zua (zoo-ah)

adj.

To eat a burger, only to realize there's way too much mustard on it."



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004