baby maybe someday
2003-08-23 Liz's story of Charles

Today in my happy ex-boyfriend series, I want to talk about Charles.

There was a long time of boylessness after Eddie. From February of 93 to October of 94, I did not have any kind of boy in my life, and for me, that's like.. a mega long time. I didn't really use this time wisely, either. In fact, I don't really remember what I did during that time except hang out with Ms. Kat and write lots of poetry. I think I got really into Soul Asylum and Nirvana and wearing plaid shirts.

But anyway. Charles was Eddie's best friend. And I do think its a little strange to date your ex-boyfriend's best friend, but this was 2 years later and nobody really cared.

Eddie and Charles had dissapeared from our lives for a year and a half. I don't know where they were. Probably causing trouble, impregnating people, running from the police, etc.

But then they showed up at Ms Knt's door when I was over at her house and then the fun began all over again. All kinds of fun obsessing over Eddie and then Charles and then Eddie again, and eventually back to Charles. I don't know how we first decided to date, but in fact, we did.

We dated for a whole 3 weeks, and I'm not even sure if dating is the right word for it. But he wore the same Pantera shirt every time I saw him. We never kissed. We held hands once, at The River Wild. But meanwhile, he was exploring his... bisexual side. He had always felt like maybe he was wanting to walk on the other side of the street, but he just happened to really explore this when we got together. I mean, I'm not sure why I was so surprised that I eventually got dumped for a guy named Travis. He told me from the very beginning that he wanted to explore that side of himself.

But he was so cute! He had short blond hair and blue eyes and an earring and wow, he was just really good looking. He was a Cancer. For some reason I remember that. He was sweet. We had a lot in common. Well, not really. He was another one of those "wrong side of the tracks" kind of boys that I loved to get myself mixed up with.

But that ended after he went full force after this other guy. Also, he had sex with a pregnant chick just to see what it was like because he was a virgin and apparently did not want to stay that way.

So it was all very sordid and dramatic and even though it only lasted 3 weeks, it took me like 2 months to get over.

Oh, and he had a thing for dolphins. His nickname was Flipper. And for like.. years after that, people kept giving me dolphin things. I don't want dolphin things anymore!

Anyway, I was 14 years old, I was a dumbass, and that is the story of Charles. I haven't spoken to him since I was 17. He once again re-emerged from wherever he was, but at that point, I was fully drawn into my whole Josh situation and since Josh didn't want me talking to other boys, I just didn't. I really wish I could have been smarter about that, because every now and then, I really miss Eddie and Charles. They both did a lot for me at one point in my life, in a weird sort of way. But there ya go.

Rock on.

I would also like to note here that while I was typing this, someone came to the door and I had to go get Matt out of the shower so he could be served with court papers. Just another fun Saturday afternoon in Plano, TX.

back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004