baby maybe someday
October 23, 2003 My shopping adventures, plus dreaming about Vegas and Chevy Chase

I've put a few banners up, so hi banner people. I appreciate you coming to visit and hereby raising my self esteem.

I've really been having some wacko dreams lately. A few nights ago, I had a dream that Chevy Chase fired me from some kind of job. Chevy Chase, really? What's up with that? Last night I had a dream that someone cut my hair and gave me bangs while I was sleeping, and man did that piss me off. The bangs looked shitty and I was just mad! How dare you give me bangs while I was sleeping! All this anger was directed towards one particular person. I'm not sure who this person is, but I really went off on here, for a really long time. I'd love to know who I have such angst for. I think it might have been Kate Hudson, but I could be wrong about that.

I also had a dream that I won a couple hundred dollars in the lottery. That means I definitely need to buy a scratch off ticket today. Awww yeah.

Anyway.

Today I work. Making burritos during the lunch rush! Does it get any better than that, friends? Actually, I think it does. But thats okay.

It's funny how one little conversation with Matt, one little utterance out of him, can change my whole perspective on things. And it's a little sad that I can still let that happen, but seriously! First of all he said that he missed me, and it's been so long since he last said that that I was beginning to wonder if he even remembered who I was!

And then he brings up this whole Vegas on New Years thing, which shifts my whole perspective on life in general. If I were to go to Vegas on New Years, I'd have to quit my job before Christmas so I can do such things. But then I'd have to have enough money to get through January without having a job. And folks, making $7.25 an hour making burritos for 3 hours a day is not going to work.

So, I have to keep looking for a job. What I ultimately want to do is find another part time job, and work at the burrito place during the day and somewhere else at night. I would only have to do this for about a month and a half, and it would probably pay off in the end.

I can't help it, people. Thinking about spending a couple of days with Matt in a hotel in Vegas, gambling, getting it on, doing our thing.. that appeals to me in so many ways. I know it probably shouldn't, but it really does. I want that. So I will have to find a way to get that.

As far as my well-being goes, I think I'm doing pretty good at this point. I haven't been taking any pills for the past 2 weeks, which is obviously not quite a good thing since I haven't been taking the thyroid pills. But I haven't had an "ohmygod I'm going to cry hysterically" moment in a while. Although tomorrow is the whole "a year ago I was dumped" festivities. But my mom is coming to visit me, so I don't think I'll get too bad or what not.

And I LOVE LOVE LOVE my hair. The same girl who did it last time cut it again, but this time I didn't think it was "boring" at all. I think I got such a boring cut last time because I was so down in the dumps. But now it's all reddish and I have a lot more layers and it's oh so purty. My hair and I get along pretty well. It's good times.

So, I've been doing a bit of shopping lately. Okay, a lot of shopping lately. It was nice to have money after not having any money, but the way I'm spending the money now, it's going to go away here pretty soon and then I won't have any money left and then I'll be totally screwed. But I had fun in the process!

Here's some stuff I bought:

1. A new office chair. I made this purchase because sitting at my little makeshift desk with my crappy chair from Target gets really uncomfortable. And when I start Nanowrimo, I'm going to want to sit for long periods of time. So that's how I justify that purchase.

2. Dido, Life For Rent. There's something about Dido that's very soothing and lovely. I really like her stuff. Lots.

3. Maxim! The grandaddy of all magazines.

4. My haircut yesterday.

5. A book about an albino blind Great Dane, for my dad.

6. I bought this deal at Blockbuster where you pay $30 for 7 movie rentals and then you can get Finding Nemo when it comes out in November. I thought it was a good plan! Cuz it's basically like getting Finding Nemo for free! That's good times.

7. I paid a lot of bills that have just kinda been sitting around going "Uh, you need to pay us, or bad things will happen."

8. A pizza from Papa Johns. Ugh, I felt like a pizza whore after eating that. I should not be eating pizza. Seriously.

9. A bed in a bag! Do you guys know how much sheets are costing these days? You can't really get good queen size sheets for under $40. What an outrage! My new bed stuff is now purple and quite comfy. Yay!

So, I've had fun. But now I need more jobs so I can make more money so I can live the lifestyle I've become so accustomed to. I sound like Kirstie Alley, but really, I'm a nice level headed kinda gal.

I have to go to work soon, so there ya go. Have a nice day. The burritos are waiting.

*****

a year ago...

"Do you hear that sound? It's the sound of the realization that 4 1/2 years of college journalism was probably wasted. A sucking sound, if you will. But that's okay, because at least now I know more about libel, the inverted pyramid, and AP style than anyone will ever need to know."

2 years ago...

"Oh good God. Today, in the middle of Denton, in DAYLIGHT! I saw a guy. He had a mullet. He had a TANK TOP that said "SLAYER" on it! I thought I had woken up in 1990 or something! That had me laughing my ass off for a few minutes, let me tell ya."



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004