baby maybe someday
December 04, 2003 I am a child of the 80's.

I stole this from her. It's good stuff!

YOU KNOW YOU GREW UP IN THE 80's or early 90's IF:

1. You've ever ended a sentence with the word "PSYCHE ".

I hated that crap. I would totally say "NOT!" but I never said that. I wasn't THAT much of a dork! HEHEHE!

2. You watched the Pound Puppies.

I didn't watch it, but I did have the toys. Crazy about the toys.

3. You can sing the rap to the "Fresh Prince of Bel Air".

I can. I totally and seriously can.

4. You wore biker shorts under your skirts and felt stylish.

Hell.yes. And I am not ashamed.

5. You yearned to be a member of the Baby-sitters club and tried to start a club of your own.

I like her answer a lot better than mine, but HELL YES!

I was just thinking tonight.. don't you ever wonder what happened to those girls? Ann M. Martin (my total hero, by the way) ended the series a few years ago, but they never got to make it to 10th grade! In 1988, they were all 12 years old. So if Ann M. Martin had let them grow, now they would be 28 years old! Can you believe that! I so want to write a story about that. I should have done THAT for Nano. Man, did I love the BSC.

*contented sigh*

But I never babysat. I didn't like kids. Is that a problem?

6. You owned those lil Strawberry Shortcake pals scented dolls.

I'm not sure about this one. But I loved Strawberry Shortcake. Or was it Rainbow Bright? I'm never sure about these things.

7. You know that "WOAH " comes from Joey on Blossom.

Mayim Bialick (I butchered her name and that makes me sad) was Blossom, and I loved her because she had played the young Bette Midler in Beaches. I love Blossom! Yay.

8. Two words: M.C. Hammer.

2 legit 2 quit, babeh. Hammer pants! You Can't Touch This is a cool song, damnit.

9. If you ever watched "Fraggle Rock ".

I wasn't a big fan, but I probably watched it every now and then.

10. You had plastic streamers on your handle bars.

Probably.

11. You can sing the entire theme song to "Duck Tales�.

This is more of a Ali-Kat thing than mine. Is that Darkwing Duck? She had this huge painting of Darkwing Duck in her room. Right? I'm retarded.

12. When it was actually worth getting up early on a Saturday to watch cartoons.

Dude, two words: Muppet.Babies. I woke up early on Saturday to watch that show. I loved that shiznit. I watched so many other Saturday morning shows too, and it sucks that I can't ever remember the names of them. There was one show with a whole bunch of 20-ish boys and I think maybe they were a boy band. I have no idea. I had a crush on one of them because he had an earring and for some reason I really liked that a lot.

I loved that whole earring thing, as a side note. A lot of my past boyfriends had earrings. I'm thinking maybe Matt is the only boyfriend who hasn't rocked the earring look. I'll have to talk to him about that.

13. You wore a ponytail on the side of your head.

I so totally did that. Not only that, but what I would do is this: I'd lean down when I was standing up so my hair would fall all over the place, and then I'd take a scrunchy (it HAD to be a scrunchy!) and put all of it in there. The result of this is really strange looking pony tails that looked quite freakish. I didn't care. I wanted to be different. And I achieved that!

14. You saw the original "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles on the big screen.

Nope. Never watched it. Does that make me a bad 80's kid?

15. You got super-excited when it was Oregon Trail day in computer class at school.

OMG! You guys just DON'T UNDERSTAND how much I loved that game. I just got goosebumps even THINKING about it! I was a computer dork even in my early days.

16. You made your mom buy one of those clips that would hold your shirt in a knot on the side.

Probably! Always from the Limited. The Limited was my all time favorite store back then.

17. You played the game "MASH " (Mansion, Apartment, Shelter, House)

MASH is rocktastic! My friends and I were totally crazy for that crap.

18. You wore Jordache jean jacket and you were proud of it.

I'm not sure about that, actually.

19. L.A. Gear....need I say more.

I loved my LA Gear and I'm proud.

20. You wanted to change your name to "JEM" in Kindergarten.

I had no idea that something like JEM existed until I saw it on I Love the 80's. Is that sad?

21. You remember reading "Tales of a fourth grade nothing" and all the Ramona books.

Dude, Judy Blume rocks your ass. Ramona, I wasn't so crazy about.

22. You know the profound meaning of "WAX ON, WAX OFF".

Wasn't a Karate Kid fan.

23. You wanted to be a Goonie.

I so wanted to be a Goonie! They had fun. Sean Astin pree LOTR is the Sean Astin that I'm the biggest fan of. Indeed!

24. You ever wore fluorescent clothing.

Well, of course! Don't be silly!

25. You can remember what Michael Jackson looked like before his nose fell off.

Dude, I loved Michael Jackson. He was my favorite for a really long time. He was my first concert, even. Those were the days, yes siree.

26. You have ever pondered why Smurfette was the only female smurf.

I never watched the Smurfs. I apologize.

27. You took Lunch Pails to school.

Dude, I was queen of the lunch box. I always had the coolest. Does that mean that people don't have lunch boxes anymore? My kids are going to have to take boring paper bags with their lunch to school? What's happening to our youth?!

28. You remember the CRAZE, then the BANNING of slap bracelets.

SLAP BRACELETS! WOOOOHOOOO!

29. You still get the urge to say "NOT" after every sentence.

Not really. But I did used to say it frequently.

30. You remember Hypercolor t-shirts.

I do. I used to swim in one. That was cool.

31. Barbie and the Rockers was your favorite band.

I didn't remember them until I watched a video recently of me getting the Barbie and the Rockers van or something like that for Christmas. So I guess so.

32. You thought Sheera and He-Man should hook up.

Eh.

33. You thought your childhood friends would never leave because you exchanged friendship bracelets.

Not only friendship bracelets, but friendship necklaces. They started out as innocent, but then they got political. Scary times.

34. You ever owned a pair of Jelly-Shoes.

Fuck yes I had Jellys! I even wore Jellys when they came back around 1996ish. They were cool!

35. After you saw Pee-Wee's Big Adventure you kept saying "I know you are, but what am I?"

Duh.

36. You remember "I've fallen and I can't get up".

Hell yes I remember that! I just watched a video tape where my brother and I reinacted that very commercial. We were dorks.

37. You remember going to the skating rink before there were inline skates.

This was early 90's for me. Me and my friend Courtney would go flirt with boys at the skating rink. And then later, in 7th grade, my boyfriend broke up with me at a skating rink. It was all terribly traumatic.

38. You ever got seriously injured on a Slip and Slide.

OH yeah. Once I slid down a hill that had ants covered in it, and I was covered head to toe in ant bites. I don't know how I managed to do that, exactly, but it sure was painful.

39. You have ever played with a Skip-It.

I am sorry to say that I'm not really sure what a Skip-it is.

40. You had or attended a birthday party at McDonalds.

My dad has a picture in his office of my party at McDonalds. We were just that cool.

41. You've gone through this nodding your head in agreement.

I've gone through this excitedly happy and banging my fists on the table screaming "YES! I REMEMBER THAT!"

42. You remember Popples.

I don't remember Popples.

43. "Don't worry, be happy".

I remember it, but I didn't like it. I always thought it was kinda cheesy.

44. You wore like, EIGHT pairs of socks over tights with high top Reeboks.

I didn't have high tops, but I did rock the socks.

45. You wore socks scrunched down.

Totally.

46. "Miss MARY MACK MACK MACK, all dressed in BLACK BLACK BLACK"

Oh good lord yes! I haven't heard that in forfuckingever. But my friends and I really wore that one out. Such a simpler time.

47. You remember boom boxes vs. cd players.

I do. Boom boxes rock, damnit.

48. You remember watching both "Gremlins " movies.

I don't remember the first one, but the second one was something I used to watch over and over again. I never understood what they meant when they said "Don't feed them after midnight!" Well, when can you feed them, then? Maybe they could say "Don't feed them between midnight and 6 AM." That would have cleared it up.

49. You know what it meant to say "Care Bear Stare!!"

Dude, the Care Bears RULED. And if you say otherwise, you suck.

50. You remember watching Rainbow Bright and My Little Pony Tales.

I had a Rainbow Bright sleeping bag. I took it everywhere. EVERYWHERE! Muahahaha.

51. You thought Doogie Howser was hot.

I watched the show, but I didn't think he was hot. He wasn't hot!

52. You remember Alf, the lil furry brown alien from Melmac.

Alf was cool.

53. You remember New Kids on the Block when they were cool.

I was a fan. But I am very proud to say that I was never hardcore about them. I don't know how I managed to stay away from that crazyness, but I did, and I'm proud of that. I had friends who were totally obsessed. It wasn't pretty. I didn't even have a favorite member of NKOTB! Also, I used to joke with my best friend Amanda that someday they'd have to change their names to the Old Kids on the Block. Yeah, hilarious, I know.

54. You knew all the characters names and their life stories on "Saved By the Bell," the ORIGINAL class.

I loved when Jessie started taking caffiene pills and started getting all crazy. That was the best!

55. You know all the words to Bon Jovi - SHOT THRU THE HEART.

Dude, come on. I'm a Guns N Roses girl, we all know that! And I'm more of a Living on a Prayer kinda girl.

56. You just sang those words to yourself.

Did not!

57. You remember watching Magic vs. Bird.

Nope! Sure don't. I remember wearing a Bulls shirt when Michael Jordan was popular. I couldn't care less about the Bulls so I don't really know why I was wearing it.

58. You cut your t-shirts in half and wore it with your homemade Levi shorts (the shorter the better).

I so did not do that. People actually did that? Wow.

59. You remember when mullets were cool!

Matt had a mullet when I met him, but I am willing to forgive him for this small matter.

60. You had a mullet!

I did not have a mullet. I did, however, have some extremely unfortunate perm episodes that were documented on video tape. *Cringe*

61. You still sing "We are the World".

Yes. I do that.

62. You "Pegged " your pants ritually.

I don't even know what that is, but I'm sure it's very exciting.

63. You French rolled your jeans.

Probably.

64. You owned a banana clip.

Eh?

THAT WAS FUN! I am a child of the 80's, yes siree.

back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004