baby maybe someday
October 29, 2003 More obsessing about a certain TV show and death sauce tragedies

Okay, really, I would like to speak of the disgust that is "refried beans"... yuck!

People come in and want refried beans on their burritos, and I swear.. I want to throw up every time I get that ladle and put those stupid beans on top of the rice. I'm not a big bean fan in the first place, but refried? What is that, anyway? They fry the beans and then its not good enough so they fry them again?

Really, people, refried beans? Why?

I just had to ask that cosmic question before I move on.

I worked last night. It was the first time our new store was open to the public, and apparently, we haven't quite caught on yet. There was about 10 people an hour last night. We were so slow that 4 people were told to go home instead of work because they weren't needed. I got to stay from 5 to close. That wasn't fun.

But again, I liked working. I had to mop! I've never had to mop anything in my life, and now I had to mop the store. It was a culturally enriching experience. I made friends with a chick named Beth, who is also a college graduate, which makes me feel better for some reason.

I also had a tragic encounter with the Death Sauce that I don't really want to discuss. However, know that Death Sauce is my number 1 enemy at the store.

Anyway, I know there's some of you Austin people out there. Come get a burrito at Freebirds and make us look busy so I don't get laid off or what not! It's on Bee Caves (2244), a little past Mopac, in a new shopping center called Mira Vista. You turn left on a street called Edgegrove or something to that effect, and there's a couple of new little shops over there. Come see us! I'll make you a gigantic burrito. You can't go wrong.

After I got off work yesterday, I came home at around 11:45 and saw Charlie the Basset Hound. I loved on him for a few minutes. His owner said, "Watch his nose! He thinks he's a dolphin!" Right as he said that, I got a big Basset Hound nose in the eyeball. I thought it was cute, anyway.

I've had a day off today, which is good, because I work on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. So that should be fun. But today I went to my brother's and did some laundry.

My uncle had some old home movies from the 60's, and when my dad's farm burned down and took all the old pictures and stuff with it, my uncle sent him the movies, and my dad sent them to my brother, and my brother took them to a place where they convert these old movies to DVDs. So today, I got to watch my mom and dad's wedding, and a lot of other stuff. It was really cool.

My mom has always been ultra beautiful. She was a model when she was younger, which is really how she met my dad. She was modeling something and he noticed her and that's how that happened. But there's something about her, maybe it's her smile or something, that really makes her radiate beauty. People notice her. People give her free cookies at Subway. People just always smile when she's around.

I wish I had something like that about me, but it must skip a generation or something. She was gorguoes. Maybe I could have been too, but I fucked up with all the donuts and Taco Cabana that I have consumed during my lifetime. I wanna look like my mommy, damnit. Is that too much to ask? Bah!

Also, today I saw the best episode of the West Wing ever. The whole time I was watching, I couldn't believe the greatness of it. Total and complete greatness. At the end, I was all "OH MY GOD! SO GREAT!" I couldn't get over it. I don't know what it is about this show, but it has totally sucked me in, and I appreciate it.

I think I'm going to go work out now. In what was happening a year ago festivies, I was making big decisions. Check it out.

*****

What was Liz doing a year ago?

"I've decided (in the shower this morning.. isn't there where all the great ideas happen?) that I'm just going to flat out move to Austin in January, even if I don't have a job there. There's several reasons why I have decided this:

1. I have been obsessed with Austin ever since I was 12 years old. That's 10 years of obsession, and you just have to act on these things sometimes.

2. It's far enough to be far away from home, but close enough (3 hours) to come home every couple of weeks.

3. BB supports it. He may not be here ready to pick up where we left off, but I think we both acknowledge that this is the best thing for us. We have to "find ourselves." Hurrah."

and...

"I spent an hour at my mom's house, sobbing basically. She told me something that really hit home.. when she got divorced from my dad, when she made that decision.. she kept hoping he would say, "Don't leave.. stay here." But he never did. And now that I'm telling BB I'm going to Austin, he's like.. "Okay, have fun." He doesn't care if I stay. Of course, he's staying that we can still be "best friends" and I can still come home and tell him all about my day when I get back, but he's not exactly saying stay here and we'll figure things out together. That hurts. But it makes sense."



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004