baby maybe someday
2003-08-09 Grumpy.

So, stuff.

1. I went to my former place of business yesterday only to be screwed out of the check they told me they would be giving me. I thought I was getting 2 checks! But the HR people sat down with me, after I made somewhat of a scene as I am known to do sometimes, and showed me that they do not owe me another check. I just didn't get it, and really, I still don't. If the Head People tell me that I have 2 checks, why don't I have 2 checks?

That just made me mad. Furious, even.

2. However, the weather turned awesome yesterday. Nothing like a huge thunderstorm to turn around a nice 110 degree day. Seriously, Austin broke a bunch of records yesterday in the heat arena. Nice to know that I could be here for the hottest summer since 1923. Woohoo.

3. I then went camping. What did I learn? I learned that I am seriously not a camping kind of girl.

The only other time I tried to go camping was when Matt and I didn't have a hotel to go to in Vegas after the Guns N Roses concert on New Years Eve in 2001. We brought a tent, but we're both tent impaired, so after a few hours of trying to put it together and sleep within its confines, we slept in the car.

Now, I seriously question the judgement of camping in the middle of August. What is that? Why couldn't we go in the middle of September when it's not 110 degrees?

Anyway. It was fun for a while. My small group girlies, Christy and Sarah, were there with me, along with about 15 other girls from church. We played some games, ate some salad, and then had to head back to the house once the sunny and hot day turned into a rainy thundery lightening type of day. There we played that wonderful "Two truths and a lie" game that is just oh so much fun. My lie is that my favorite band is Matchbox 20. People always guess that one, though, so I should probably change my answer at some point.

Soon, I developed one of my infamous "neck aches" that refused to go away. It got so bad that when we finally headed back to our tents around 12:30 AM, I slept for approximately 1 hour and spent the rest of the night in pain. Instead of sticking around with the rest of the girls and toughing it out like someone more hardcore, I left as soon as we woke up and I went home and went to sleep for 7 more hours. I basically just woke up. I know, I'm just the coolest.

I felt bad, but I don't care. I'm not a camper. Some people are campers, some people are a lot more hardcore than me, but yeah. I'm not. Let's just deal with that and move on.

From the tone of this entry, it would seem that I am a little cranky. Therefore, I'm going to whack it, take a shower, and then pursue some doggie therapy at my brother's house.

Matt is in San Diego right now. He sent me the sweetest email ever, and it seriously almost made me cry because.. it's just nice and still almost surreal to get these emails.. to know that I don't have to be bitter that he has someone else in his life because I am in his life. I love that. I know its dorky, but hey, whatever blows your skirt up.

Rock on.

back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004