baby maybe someday
August 31, 2003 Liz remembers James fondly.

Tonight in the ex-boyfriend series, I will be discussing James.

James was yet another Matchmaker boy. After Josh, I shoved myself back into Matchmaker life and made a whole crapload of friends. Unfortunately none of these friends lived anywhere near me. Most of them lived in Arlington, about an hour from Dallas. I would drive there because none of my friends had cars. So I was kinda putting the miles on my poor little Jetta.

James was a friend of Hazel's, and Hazel was a friend of Chris #2's, so we were all in this little strange group. I don't quite remember how James and I initially got together, but it was a recipe for disaster from the very start - we both just got dumped out of very traumatic relationships. Except in his, he was sort of the cause of the trauma. Also, he had a brother named Jeremy who was 14 years old but just the coolest kid in the world. I miss that little guy.

James was cute. He was a chubby little man with long black hair and blue eyes. He was really awkward and somewhat stupid at times, but he was fun to hang out with and a good kisser. He also listened to Lovelines one night when they were talking about how to find the G-Spot, and damn did he go after it like a pro.

Two other things about James: He always wore a black t-shirt with a pocket and blue jeans. And it wasn't the same t-shirt, because he had about 10 identical shirts in his closet, just waiting to be worn. Also, he was truly obsessed with Andrea, his ex-girlfriend. I hated her at first because she hurt my boy, but then we became friends and kinda had a little alliance going for a while. Plus, later we both went to the same college. Woohoo! But he could not get over her. He refused to even try. I'm all like, "Hello, I just got out of an abusive relationship and I'm trying to make an effort here! Can't you even TRY?!" He couldn't try.

Unfortunately this union resulted in sexual intercourse. However, it was only 1 time, and we broke up the day after. It was really bad sex. That's really not why we broke up, but it was kind of a factor. What girl wants to go out with a guy who comes inside you when you specifically tell him not to? Hello?

I broke up with him really because the next day, he had changed his Matchmaker Essay (the essays were totally hardcore back then.. they were totally political and were known to start fights between people. But that's another story) to talk not about me and how he had joined us in conjugal bliss, but about his ex-girlfriend and what a bitch she was. That was enough for me. I was still very new to this sex thing and it hurt that I did that with him, after only knowing him for like.. a month.. and then having him just go back to obsessing over her. It sucked.

We were still friends for a while after that, but I couldn't get over the whole sex thing. Sometimes I would even get mad at him, just randomly, because he just didn't care. I cared. He was, and still is, half of the people I've had sex with. That means a lot to me, even now.

About a year and a half later, me and James and our friend Julie and her boyfriend got pulled over by the police. We had tons of beer in the trunk and none of us were 21 years old. We had to dump all the beer out while the police watched, and that was the extent of our punishment. But I'm pretty sure that was the last time I ever saw him. Nothing like police-fueled adventures to bring you and your ex together.

James was cute. He couldn't pump gas for me when I asked him because he didn't know how, but he found my G-Spot. I have good memories of that time in my life. He had a lot of cool friends that I enjoyed hanging out with. They were hardcore potheads and I never was, but that never was a problem. I kinda miss that, but it still has a prominent place in my mind. I liked my hour long trips to Arlington. James and his friends taught me that I could be popular, and that I could hang out in big groups and have fun and fit in.

I didn't realize until just now how much I truly miss that time of my life. It was right before I met Matt and it was the beginning of my senior year when everything was right in front of me. Also, Matt eventually met James and was truly unimpressed with him. But that's okay.

*sigh*

Anyway. That was my fun James story. And if you're keeping track, both of the people I've had sex with have had the initials JW. Fun, I know.

Next up: The story of Matt, the whole point of the ex-boyfriend chronicles.

Other ex-boyfriend tales: Eddie, Charles, Ryan,Joseph,Adam, the two Chris',and Josh.



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004