baby maybe someday
November 23, 2003 Michael Jackson + Matchbox 20 = my entry!

Is it bad that I really feel sorry for Michael Jackson?

I mean.. I know he's really creepy and he shouldn't proclaim to British documentary film makers that it's "beautiful" to have little boys sleep in his bedroom, but I love Michael Jackson! Come on, people! Thriller! Thriller used to scare the shit out of me when I was 3 years old. I had the record and I'd play it, but I'd hide when Thriller came on because yeah. It freaked me out. I had the biggest crush on him, too! It was weird, but I seriously did!

And! Michael Jackson was the first concert I ever went to, when I was 4 or 5 years old. It's hard to watch all this stuff about him on TV. I know just because he was one of my favorites when I was younger, that doesn't mean he's innocent of the charges. But it does make me feel bad for him. He had a weird childhood. He probably doesn't understand the reality of what happens in his life, and that's sad, and I feel bad for him! But if he does that with the little boys, than he should be punished, of course.

I just think it's strange that when I hear about regular old men doing shit like that, the normal reaction is to be mad and say "What a sick bastard!" and such like this. But when it's Michael Jackson, someone I feel like I know and have loved in the past, it's hard to say that. You want to believe he's innocent.

Anyway. I just thought I'd share.

While I'm on a pop culture tear, I'd like to talk a little bit about the crap that is Matchbox 20.

I have hated Matchbox 20 for about 5 or 6 years now. There is just nothing that I like about this band. Rob Thomas might be attractive in some sort of way, but that's about it.

The song that I really think defines them is "3 AM," which is the most craptastic song ever. There isn't anything rock and roll about it, and there isn't anything redeeming about it at all. It's just a song. It doesn't stand for anything. It's not rock and roll, it's not even pop. It's just a bunch of people getting together to play their instruments and sing a song. It's like.. a manufactured group made to appeal to a certain demographic, much like the boy bands or what have you.

They don't ruffle any feathers, they just don't do anything but do their best to appeal to their audience. I can't respect that. I don't like that at all. I think it's poop.

I can respect singers like Eminem who do their music, don't make apologies, and just rock harder because of that. I just can't get behind a band like Matchbox 20. To put it simply, they just suck.

That's just how I feel. I was probably wrong about 90% of what I just said there, but that's just how I see it. And it's only my opinion that matters, right?! Muahahaha!

That is all.

*****

a year ago...

"6:15 on a Saturday night. I have nothing to do but clean my room, go to bed and wait for December 14th to come so I can graduate, get out of this dorm, and do other such things. I.can't.wait.to.go.to.Austin. I can't wait to get out of here so every highway, every restaurant, every car, every fucking gas station doesn't remind me of BB. "That's where we went when blah blah blah" goes through my mind when I'm in Dallas. Get ready, Austin, because one bitter bitch is coming for you."

2 years ago...

"So I had the typical American dysfunctional Thanksgiving: I spent part of the day with my mom and her 65 year old husband, and the next part with my dad and his 33 year old girlfriend, who has a 2 year old son. Woohoo! Fun.

We [also] went to my grandmother's house, which is always an interesting experience. We had a nice turkey lunch and such. To say my mom's side is a little different from my dad's side of the family would be an understatement. My mom's brother's girlfriend showed me a map of the RV she was very excited about purchasing. And she also used to be in a biker gang. Even had a tatto to show for it. Quite exciting."



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004