baby maybe someday
January 14, 2004 Liz's annual tribute to My So Called Life

So, it's the annual "Watch all 19 episodes of My So Called Life and get all obsessed again" affair. Having watched the last episode tonight, I am STILL overwhelmed at how crazy good that show was. 10 YEARS LATER and I'm STILL not over it! Claire Danes is just so.. good. And Jared Leto is just so... hot.

It might be a sickness, I don't know. I just found something in that show that I could identify with, something that I haven't been able to do with any TV show since then, which may sound trivial and annoying and quite useless, but really, aren't we all just looking for TV shows we can identify with?

*sigh*

So anywhere, here's some obsession-worthy stuff I feel I must share with my viewing audience:

The letter on the very last episode that Brian Krakow writes for Jordan to give to Angela:

Dear Angela,

I know in the past I've caused you pain, and I'm sorry. And I'll always be sorry til the day I die. And I hate this pen I'm holding, because I should be holding you. I hate this paper under my hand because it isn't you. I even hate this letter because it's not the whole truth. Because the whole truth is so much more than a letter can even say. If you wanna hate me, go ahead. If you wanna burn this letter, do it. You could burn the whole world down. You could tell me to go to hell. I'd go. If you wanted me to. And I'd send you a letter from there.

Sincerely,

Jordan Catalano

And from my FAVORITE episode, one of the greatest single episodes of any TV show EVER, the Shakespeare sonnet:

Katimsky (reading to class): 'My mistress's eyes are nothing like the sun. Coral is far more red than her lips. If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun. If hair be wires, black wires grow on her head. I have seem roses damasked, red and white, but no such roses see I in her cheeks. And in some perfumes there is more delight, than in the breath that from my mistress reeks. I love to hear her speak, yet well I know that music hath a far more pleasing sound. I grant I never saw a goddess go...my mistress when she walks treads on the ground. And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare as any she belied with false compare.' What kind of girl is Shakespeare describing here? Is she, is she the most beautiful girl?
Brian: No.
Katimsky: Is she a goddess? Physically perfect? The kind of girl who...uh...stops traffic when she walks down the street?
Brian: No.
Katimsky: So, he's...not in love with her?
Jordan: Yeah. He is.
Katimsky: Well, why is that? Why is he in love with her?
Brian: She's not just a fantasy. She's got, like, flaws. She's real.
Katimsky: Thank you."

*sigh*

The song Jordan wrote that everyone thought was about Angela but was really about his car:

"I was going nowhere, Going nowhere fast
Drowning in my memories, Living in the past,
Everything looked black till I found her.
She's all I need and that's what I said,
I call her Red...
She's my shelter from the storm
She's a place to rest my head
Late at night she keeps me safe and warm
I call her Red..."

*sigh*

Some random quotes and such:

"If you like analyze why certain people end up with certain other people it'll make you wanna KILL yourself."

-- Brian

"I'm in love. His name is Jordan Catalano. He was let back, twice. Once I almost touched his shoulder in the middle of a pop quiz. He's always closing his eyes like it hurts to look at things." -- Angela

"If Jordan Catalano is nearby, my whole body knows it. Like one of those dogs that point. I'll keep talking and stuff, but my mind won't even know what I'm saying. I keep wondering if there's a term for this." -- Angela

"There's something about Sunday night that really makes you want to kill yourself." --Angela

"You know how sometimes the last sentence you said, like, echoes in your brain? And it just keeps sounding stupider? And you have to say something else just to make it stop?" --Angela

I LOVE this one. I'm a dork.

Jordan: "Why are you like this?"
Angela: "Like what?"
Jordan: "Like how you are."
Angela: "How am I?"

From the first episode:

Jordan: "This doesn't seem like a Friday.
Angela: It's Thursday
Jordan: Oh, are you sure?
Angela: Yesterday was Wednesday, so...
Jordan: Oh, right.
Angela: So that's how I know."

"Finally! An erection from actual, physical contact!" -- Brian

Angela: "Mom, I've been alone with Danielle before."
Patty: "Yes, and I can't help but recall the time you put her in the dryer."
Angela: "Oh Mom! That was so long ago. I can't believe you're still talking about that...Anyway, she *begged* me to do it."
Patty: "Whoever's idea it was, I don't want to come home and find anyone in an appliance."

"It's like you think you are safe or something cause you can just walk away anytime, cause you don't need her - you don't need anyone. But the thing you didn't realize is, you're wrong." -- Jordan

*contented sigh*



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004