baby maybe someday
March 26, 2004 Roomates, patterns, and bears! Oh My!

This might qualify as the longest entry ever. Just so we all know.

You know, I like country music. I do. Not only am I from Texas (where we dig the country, yall), but I've listened to it and have appreciated it over the years because of Matt's country boy influence. Road trips are half county music, half rock music when we're together, because he's a little bit country and I'm a little bit rock and roll.

I'm sorry. It just seemed appropriate.

Anyway, I like it. But having to sit here and listen to it for 8 hours a day DRIVES ME CRAZY. Our office has two "rooms" and the "room" I'm in features the chick who listens to the country music all day. Her theme song that she just loves is "Redneck Woman". Uh huh.

And when she leaves and I turn it off, I still have echoes of country music dancing in my head. Seriously.. I feel like I can still hear it even though I turned it off. Country music is LITERALLY making me insane!

I just had to get that off my chest.

I'm doing lots of reviews to fill up the long and empty work hours, so go request if you so choose.

In other news, it seems that I have settled into some kind of strange routine over the past month. I wake up around 7:20, lie around wishing I could sleep more. I get up, take a shower, dry my hair, curl my hair, get dressed, brush my teeth, have breakfast in some capacity which usually, if I'm trying to eat healthy that day, yogurt or a waffle or an apple. If I'm not, I leave 10 minutes early to get a Breakfast on a Bun at Whataburger or donuts at the place that's right next to where I work.

I get to work. I set up my computer, since they don't have a computer here for me and I have to bring my laptop everyday. I check all the job boards for something I am interested in/qualified for. I answer the phones all day. Around 11:00 on most days, I get in the car and drive 15 minutes to my dad's office, get the mail, pop in and say hi to my dad, and then drive back here. I then spend the rest of the day answering the phone and surfing the internet, where Television without pity and Diaryland are heavily involved. I go home around 5, eat dinner, sit around with my roomate and watch TV until 8, work out until 10, get online until 11:15, and then go to bed.

Isn't my life exciting?

It's not that great of a routine seeing that I have no social life, and I really need to work on that. I KNOW I need to call someone at church about small groups, but I just haven't yet.

I really hated life in Austin, we all know that. I was in a weird place there. But I still managed somehow to carve out a decent social life without knowing anyone but my brother. I think I did a good job with that. And now I'm back in the city I grew up in, and I'm using my parents and my roomate as a crutch. If I'm bored, I either watch more TV with my roomate or I go visit the parents. It's very easy, but it's also not very challenging. I'm planning on living here a long time, so I don't get why I'm not leaping on the friendship bandwagon. I'm not volunteering or even really looking into volunteering. I'm not doing any of the tactics I relied on in Austin to get by, and that's just not good.

Not to mention this "diet" thing. I can't, for the life of me, stick to eating healthier. It's so stupid. I even started a new diary to keep track of how I'm doing with the diet, but that's not even working yet. I don't know what I have to do to make myself stick to a healthier lifestyle. I've been working out forfuckingever now, years even, and while it shows in the fact that I'm not a big giant blimp, my stomach is still huge and my face is still puffy and that's really annoying. Why do I feel the need to negate my hardcore workouts with all this crappy food? I'm weird.

But, in good news, my roomate (is it roommate or roomate? I've seen it both ways) and I are really getting along well. It has been decided that we're going to extend the lease for another 6 months when it expires in May, so that's awesome. While my apartment is definitely not in the best part of town, it's extremely cheap and convenient, so I can dig it. Sometimes the fact that I live right off Central Expressway and can hear all the cars zooming by at night is annoying, but I still like it. I like it lots.

But back to the roomate. She is cool. And very supportive in an abrasive way. I think we have the same sense of humor. I think I've just forgotten what it's like to have a really good female friend who I can talk about anything with. She's going through a break-up after being with the guy for 4 years, and I know where she is because I've been there. He came over last night after me and Roomate had this big talk about what a dork he was, but I understood that. I totally did. I think it's good for both of us that we understand where the other is coming from.

But I've kinda been trashing myself lately but she always has something nice to say about me, and for only knowing someone for 2 months, I think that's awesome. I also think it's awesome that I found this person on roomates.com and she was the first person I talked to about an apartment. I guess it's sorta like an arranged marriage.. we didn't know each other before we moved in so we could kinda learn how to do stuff together. She's very non-judgmental and that's something I really like.

But we like the same TV shows! I feel bad if I'm not there on Thursday to watch the hour and a half of Friends and then the Apprentice with her.

It's just really nice to have someone there when I come home from work. She's going to NYC for 2 weeks for her job next week, and I'm not even looking forward to it. I lived by myself for a long time! I'm not even looking forward to walking around naked or eating whatever I want without worrying about her thinking I'm a pig. Bah on that.

Group Hug. Check it out. It'll make you feel better about yourself.

On a completely different subject, I'm noticing patterns here at the office. One big pattern is that when one or the other chicks that work here are gone, the phones almost stop ringing. It's almost like they both have a psychic connection with their clients that lets them know when they aren't in the office.

That's just weird to me.

MP3's played during this entry: (I'm alone in the office right now, so it's all me, all the time)
What She's Doing Now, Garth Brooks
Live and Let Die, Guns N Roses
Iris (Acoustic Version), Goo Goo Dolls
Black (Acoustic), Pearl Jam
Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad, Moby
Don't Cry, Alternate version - Guns N Roses
My Immortal (acoustic) - Evanescense
Mad World - Gary Jules (SUCH a BEAUTIFUL song!)

I download lots of acoustic songs, if you couldn't tell. IMesh is my friend.

I have to poo now.

I really need to end this entry but I have nothing else to do so I just keep typing!

Okay. Bye. Have a good weekend.



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004