baby maybe someday
2003-08-05 Puppy McPuppertons

I would like to talk about my Christian friends today.

For the past 3 years, I have surrounded myself with Christian friends. I joined a church back in Denton, found a small group, and attached myself to them. They are a little different from my friends in the past.

First of all, they are very accepting of your flaws. You have leprosy? That's great, come on in. You have social retardation? Not with us, you don't! You can't bowl higher than a 43? We love you anyway.

Second, I find it hard to really be myself around them. I am a cussin hardcore kind of girl, and I feel bad even saying "suck" around them. When we went bowling, everytime I loudly announced that I "suck at this!" I felt like I was saying something naughty. And forget about ever saying any other bad words.. they will look at you like you just insulted their grandmother.

Third, I dunno.. maybe this is what's keeping me from really putting balls to the wall and just committing to learning more about God. This is so lame, but the Christians I hang out with really don't like to do anything I like to do. Spend 2 hours at Wal-Mart in the CD section using that way cool machine that lets you listen to a few songs on it? I'm sorry, that really doesn't get my juices flowing. And the movies that they allow themselves to watch.. Tommy Boy is okay, but Jerry Maguire is bad bad bad. I don't know. I want to be more hardcore about God, but it seems like I have to give up part of who I am to do it. I guess that's the whole point, right?

I suck.

May I introduce you to the newest member of Matt's household:

She's a total cutie pie, but like most puppies, she's also devious and a pooping machine. But she likes me, so we're all good.

That's all for now. I have to go get ready to meet my brother and his ex-boyfriend's mom for some career preparation or some such. Should be good times.



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004