baby maybe someday
2003-08-10 Pop culture and sadness

Hi Party People.

Not much interesteringness going on up in here at the moment. Last night my brother and a few of his friends and I went to this thingie called "Mr. Sinus Theater 3000", which, of course, is a take off of Mystery Science Theater 3000. Three guys sit in the front of a movie theater and make fun of a movie the whole time, the movie being Top Gun this time.

It was funny stuff. That really is quite a homosexual movie. That volleyball scene? Come on! That's all kinds of gay up in there.

It was a good way to spend a Saturday night, though.

And it's funny.. I have always wanted to tag along with my brother. When we were younger, I always wanted into his room, I wanted to do what he and his friends were doing, and they were not all about that. But now I get to be a part of what he's all about because he invites me everywhere, and I dig that. I think it's awesome that we have a good relationship now. I don't know what I would have done in Austin if he hadn't of been here for me. And really, I probably wouldn't have moved here in the first place if he didn't live here, but that's not the point.

I'm gonna miss that when I move back. I'll have my mom and dad to visit, but I won't be able to just come over and hang with my big brother, watching a movie and playing with his big giant doggie Dylan.

I was thinking yesterday that there's a lot of stuff I'll miss about Austin. I really do like it here, traffic problems excluded. But it's a liberal place, and a very accepting place. I don't know if I was just moving to Dallas from somewhere else.. I don't know if they'd be so accepting of me. Dallas isn't cool in that accepting people no matter where they came from kind of way like Austin is.

If the whole Matt thing wasn't in the equation, there would be a possibility that I would stay here beyond February. But I just say that because I know I'll be moving in February anyway, and it's fun to think about my future mistakes, right? I'm a dork.

But the Matt thing? It's getting better, I think. He's gotten really cute lately for some reason. He's always telling me he misses me and talking about the next time we'll see each other and all this kind of stuff. Maybe there is something to this long distance relationship crappola.. distance makes the heart grow fonder or what not.

I'm really happy about it. What he's giving me now is exactly what I wanted from the very beginning. And now I have it. And it makes me want to work even harder so that I can reward myself with our relationship instead of it being the only thing in my life that I have to look forward to. Does that make sense? It made sense to me.

ANYWAY! I saw SWAT today. It sucked. It was like a mixture of the Recruit and Basic, and I've seen it before, and I was really not impressed.

I was looking at the choices that us, the American filmgoers, have in front of us these days. Like.. 6 out of 8 movies at the theater were sequels or take offs of something else like that. It's a shame. Are there no original ideas out there anymore?

Here's a list of the movies that were playing at the theater I went to

1. American Wedding - third in a series.

2. Bad Boys 2 - A sequel

3. Terminator 3 - Third in a series.

4. Charlie's Angels, Full Throttle - A sequel.

5. Freaky Friday - A remake. I've read the book and I'm really sure that the movie won't compare, anyway.

6. Gigli - Not a sequel or a remake, but really, does anyone actually want to see this?

7. Tomb Raider - sequel

8. Seabiscuit - Finally, something original.

9. Spy Kids 3D - Sequel. Crappy one, at that.

10. LXG - From a comic book.

11. Pirates of The Caribean - kind of original, but based on a ride at Disneyworld!

So there ya have it. Exactly 2 out of 11 movies that are truly original, and only one, Seabiscuit, worth seeing.

Pop culture makes me sad sometimes.

I'm gonna go watch Sex and the City now.

*****

What was Liz doing a year ago?

"I have a growing appreciation of Tom Selleck. I used to watch Magnum PI all the time without really caring about him, but now I really think he's kinda sexy. Don't you?

That really didn't have anything to do with anything, I just felt like sharing."

What was Liz doing 2 years ago?

"Okay, so it's 4:39 PM and I'm sitting here in my underwear (my NEW underwear, might I add!) eating cookie dough. Am I proud of this fact? Not really. But come on, it's 102 degrees! I was wearing clothes at some point, but it's just too hot to wear anything right now. The cookie dough I have no excuse for. I just had a craving."



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004