baby maybe someday
September 11, 2003 Liz talks about today.

Two years ago, I woke up a few minutes before I was supposed to go to my politcal science class. I did what I always do in the morning - I got online and checked my email. I saw something on AOL, something about a tower being blown up, and I read about it, and I didn't understand. It wasn't real to me. It didn't make sense to me. I was trying to think to myself, "Well, that's okay. They can fix that, right?"

My sense of denial was quickly left behind when I got to school that day, Tuesday, September 11th, 2001. On the bus on the way there, the radio was on and they were talking about it. At my class, we didn't even try to talk about political science. We found a radio and all gathered around it until my teacher figured out that we could watch footage of it on the computer.

It scared me, but like most things tend to do with me, I kept trying to deny that something this huge could have happened. But it did. And it brought people together in a way that we never expected. It made people realize the problems with our country. But it also made people realize the strengths.

That's about as eloquent as I can be about it. If I were a praying person, which it would seem like I should be, I'd pray for the victims. But all I can say is - New York: You guys continue to amaze me with your resolve, your strength, and your courage. Keep amazing us all.

*****

In completely different news, I'm about to go to Dallas now. I probably won't see Matt because he's still being an asshat. I will see my mommy and her horsie, so that's good.

Rock on.

*****

What was Liz doing 2 years ago?

"Nothing seems to matter anymore. We've been attacked. We've been jostled out of our nice happy world of freedom and good times, and there's nothing we can do about it.

I'm scared. I'm scared shitless and I have no idea what to do about it. I'm at my mom's right now because it's really the only place right now I'd like to be. "



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004