baby maybe someday
December 05, 2003 THE WEST WING! THEEEE WEESSSTT WIINNNGG!

Okay, seriously people. I have to get this off my chest. I would appreciate it if you just humored me here for a second because I just need you to do that.

WHY I LOVE THE WEST WING: A list.

For Christmas, my brother got me (as per my request) the new West Wing DVD of the first season. Along with reruns on Bravo (4 a day!) and a new episode on NBC last night, in the past 3 days it is highly likely that I've seen about 20 episodes of the West Wing at 45 minutes per episode. That's 20 hours of pure West Wing greatness.

As my brother says (and this is one of the few things we both agree on) "I feel like my life is a little bit better after I watch that show."

So here's some reasons for the greatness.

1. As I've said before, these people really have their shit together. They handle things on a day to day basis that I don't think I'll ever have to handle in my lifetime. They are good at their jobs. They went to Harvard and Princeton and all these other places and they really worked their asses of to do this kind of thing. I didn't do that. I admire those who do.

2.The relationship between the president and the chief of staff is so cool. It's a real male friendship, and you don't see genuine male friendship too much on TV anymore. I mean, there was Paul and Kevin on the Wonder Years, but who else? Come on now.

They stick up for each other. They respect each other. And I love watching that! I'm a dork.

3. Rob Lowe is a fine looking man.

4. Not only is he a fine looking man, but I love his character. He is such a dork and he loves his job and he NEVER half asses ANYTHING! I half ass EVERYTHING! So I respect that.

5. Martin Sheen is so wonderful as the president. He's smart and funny and he insults people and smokes and he's an awesome father and I love him.

6. The relationship between Charlie and the president. Charlie is so cute. And he didn't even really want that job but he's so good at it and they have good chemistry together.

7. Allison Janey! How fucking cool is she? The first season is pairing her with Danny the reporter, and it's such a cute little flirtation they have going on. I heart Allison Janey. She knows her shit.

8. Just the fact that when an episode is over, I just sit there and think, "Damn, that was great television right there." It's great writing (Thank you, Aaron Sorkin) and great stories and an interesting subject and I feel smarter after I watch it.

I know that's completely retarded to become so totally obsessed with a TV show, but that's what I do. I was like this about My So Called Life, too. It's just me and my kookyness. I am living vicariously through them, which might be sad, but that's my life right now. I'm a burrito maker that only works 3 days a week for 2 or 3 hours at a time. I'll take my vicariousness where I can.

I had to get that off my chest. I feel better now.

On a completely different note, during the duration of this entry I was also having to talk to an almost 26 year old male about what sex feels like. Damn virgins.



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004