baby maybe someday
February 22, 2004 Liz gets all stalker-like and obsessive-ish.

I have a story for my fellow D-land listeners. Now with a Gordo email update!

First, background.

I've been listening to an AM sports radio station for almost 5 years now. I listen to this station most of the day, from the first show to the last show, because it's good entertainment.

I have shared with you guys tales of Ticketstock two years in a row now. Ticketstock is an event for all us ravenous Ticket fans to get together and just mingle. It's a huge event, with all kinds of fun and games and such. I love it, this is my 4th year to go. I'm always alone at this gathering because nobody else would be into going with me. Matt has just recently gotten into it, but he's in Baton Rouge. So yeah.

ANYWAY. There is this guy. His name is Gordo. Pretty much since day one of listening, I've had a massive crush on him. Every Saturday morning from 10 to 12 is my favorite time of the week because that's when his show is on.

He's just a fascinating person, and I think he's cute. My main kick out of going to Ticketstock is renewing my obsessive crush on him for the year. Last night they had a concert, and he game out in full Bee Gee's gear and sang Stayin Alive. It was amazing.

I don't know what it is. I realize he has a family and he's too old for me anyway, but there have been certain people in the past that I've had major crushes on, not because I wanted to be with them, but maybe just because I want them to be in my life somehow. Like my history teacher my freshman year in college. He was so odd, and obviously a bit gay. But I thought he was greatness and I wanted him in that kind of way. Or something.

So yeah. I've had this crazy obsession with him for many years now. And I probably could have talked to him by now.. it's not like he's a rock star, he's a radio show host. But that would just be too smart.

So, today I went to Ticketstock. I was sitting about 10 feet from the stage. At the right of the stage, Gordo and his family were standing around, giggling and playing with their daughter and just being outrageously cute and wonderful. I have never wanted to be part of another family as much as I did this afternoon. Is that creepy? You could just tell that he was so completely happy with his family, and I dig that. I want that kind of thing someday, I really do. Obviously. But soon. Not in like.. 10 years. Soon. Yeah.

Two years ago, I went to Ticketstock and saw that Gordo's wife was pregnant. Today, I saw the product of that pregnancy, a very adorable little girl

So I'm sitting on the floor while most of everyone else were sitting on the bleachers. I'm kinda staring at Gordo but I'm paying attention to the show, as well. Anyway, all of a sudden, Gordo's little girl comes running towards me and gives me a gigantic hug. It was surreal! I was like, ohmygod! She's so cute! I love her dad! WHAT IS GOING ON HERE?!

Someone came to retrieve her and I was left there giggling to myself. This had already made my day. I was so excited to have an actual link to Gordo that I was about to pee in my pants. But then it happened again! Two more times! The third time prompted an actual response from Gordo.. the first and probably last time he will ever speak to me.

"Sorry about that."

Awww yeah.

So yeah. I don't know why this little girl was so fascinated. Probably because she knew in her heart that I'm obsessed with her dad. Who knows! But it was quite exciting. At least to me. I just realized that this story is probably boring to everyone else. But to me, it was totally surreal because I have loved Gordo forever and his daughter picks me as her cuddle buddy. That gives me an in now! I have something to talk to Gordo about now! I'm going to email him in like 2 seconds! HEHEHEEEEHEH!

EMAIL UPDATE! I got an answer to the email I sent last night before I went to bed, around 12:30. Here is the exciting response:

"What a sweetheart! Thank you so much for the kind words. And thanks for being so nice to my little one. She likes to give hugs."

So, not exactly a bad response, and at least there was a response. But it was a close down. No more room for chattiness. I'm not going to share the email I wrote him because while I thought it was really good, intelligent and somewhat witty last night, I reread it this morning and cringed. A lot. So there it is.

AAAAHHHHH! I do this to myself every single year.. I get re-obsessed with this man! Why! I dreamt about him all night! I have problems.

A picture: he's on the far right. I know he looks a little like Grizzly Adams, but mmmmm.

That is my story. The daughter of someone I have a huge crush on decided I was her new cuddle buddy. Awww.

Sign the fucking thing.

back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004