baby maybe someday
2003-05-27 The first day - part 2

So, my new job.

It was the first day of 5 weeks of training, so it was just kinda like school today. Some interesting characters here, let me tell ya. One girl looks like a drag queen, but as far as I can tell, she isn't. Another chick looks like the truck driver from Pee Wee's Big Adventure.

The most interesting person is our trainer. She has to wear all white all the time because she is in training to become and African Priestess of the Ocean. I am not making this up. She also can't go to the mall, can't touch anyone but her kids, has to eat in solitude, and all kinds of other things. But apparently Priestesses of the Ocean are allowed to smoke, because I'm pretty sure I spotted some Marlboros in her pocket. Interesting.

I think this will be good times. Sure, it's nothing I ever thought I'd do, but I'm stepping out of my comfort zone. I'm learning something new, I'm making a change in my life. Daily contact with 15-20 people who have problems.. that's definitely going to change me. It's going to change how I talk to people, how I go about life. And I need that.

It's also working for a big corporation who is contracted out of an even bigger corporation. It's a car company. A BIG car company. And eventually I can even get me one of these cars at a discount. If that's not good times, I don't know what is.

The best part about this job? It's only 6 minutes from my apartment. That's a luxury in Austin, let me tell ya. For my lunch break, I went to the Subway that I always go to. That was nice, it really was.

Also, the fact that I'm gaining experience and everything is good. I am such a lucky bitch to have gotten this job. It seems like everyone else has prior experience, and I don't. So I'll have to work that much harder. I'm just glad they saw something in me they liked, and that's good times.

A problem, though. I was going to start my diet today but Taco Cabana didn't agree. I was hungry! Bah. Tomorrow, really.

Also, Matt emailed me this morning to wish me luck and to say he'd be thinking about me. It wasn't that big of a surprise.. he did that with my last job, too. I would have actually been surprised if he didn't do it. But it still made me smile. I'm easy to please, what can I say.

I am so tired. So, so tired. This whole working 8 hours a day thing can really get to a person.

I'm going to make cookies now.

back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004