baby maybe someday
October 21, 2003 Money!

If loving commentary by Stephen King on the DVD version of the Stand is wrong, then I just don't want to be right.

At this moment, I am multi-tasking by eating Taco Cabana, watching the Stand, and chatting with Matt, who has initiated conversation not once but TWO whole times today. I even got an unsolicited "I miss you" out of him, just for good measure! Awww.

So, the rest of today was spent going out of my way to obtain money, spend money, and make money. How exciting!

This is my obtaining money story, and boy is it a knee slapper.

My dad recently bequested me a whole lot of money, which is good, because I have zero money right now. I was worried because I had no gas this morning and I was wondering how I was going to get to San Antonio with no gas.

I had to go to San Antonio because that's where my dad chooses to have his bank. I don't know why. It doesn't make sense to me, either. I recently ordered checks but they haven't come yet! So I decided, what the hell, I'm just going to fuckin drive to San Antonio and get me some money.

Now Matt's suggesting we go to Vegas for NYE. That's some crazy talk, but okay. It's nice to know he's even thinking about it.

Anyway, yeah. I drove an hour and a half and I was probably down to my very last nugget of gas when I finally got to this stupid bank. Once I was there, I withdrew more money than I've ever seen in my life. I withdrew so much because I didn't know when I'd get my checks, and I didn't really want to have to worry about that.

But damn, this money went to my head. It made me a little crazy. If there wasn't a Bank One across the street where I could deposit it into my own bank account, there's no telling what I might have done with all that money. I even went to a store called Mr. Laptop and thought seriously about buying a $1,200 laptop right then and there. But cooler heads prevailed, and I put it back in my pants.

I just thought I'd share that.

And that's the sound of everyone reading this shaking their heads and saying "Lordy! What a spoiled beyotch!" And you would be right.

But I digress. I WORKED for my money today, damnit! I stood in a stupid little burrito restuarant and made people burritos for 3 straight hours. I made a whole $21.75!

And while making that money, I introduced a whole new generation of people to my social retardation. I love guessing how long it's going to take for someone to realize that I'm not quite like everyone else, there might be a screw loose in there somewhere. But at some point during the night, it seems like almost every person in that store got a pretty good picture of my weirdness. But hey, good times.

It was a new experience, that's for sure. I've never stood so long before. Even at the movie theater, there'd be a rush for maybe 30 minutes, and then I could sit down and read or something. Here? Uh. No. Crazy crazy times.

There should probably be more to say here, but I rented 7 movies tonight, so I'm gonna get busy.

Movies I rented:

The Stand, with commentary from people including Stephen King and Rob Lowe

One Crazy Summer, with commentary from Bobcat Goldwaith!

Sweet Home Alabama, just because.

I'm tired.

*****

a year ago...

"I just took my last midterm and well.. it sucked some ass. Hardcore ass. At one point, I filled in my scantron randomly, spelling out words like "cab" and stuff. I'm a smart one. Can you see my smartness?"

2 years ago...

"Angel Boy called me on Friday night, while BB and I were driving to the football game. I didn't answer it because I wanted to avoid BB-Angel Boy ackwardness, but it still excited me nonetheless. I mean.. what is it about us? What makes a guy who knew me when I was 15 years old still call me after I turned 22? We only went out a few months and I constantly beat him down about little things like "Why didn't you call me last night!" Or "Why did you stand me up again!" (Okay, that was a big thing.)"



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004