baby maybe someday
June 24, 2004 Obsession? What obsession?

I'm not sure if you guys have ever noticed this about me, but I tend to obsess over things sometimes.

I'm not sure why I have such an obsessive personality, but it's been a part of me for so long that I don't even really bother to change it anymore. My friends and family are used to it. My roommate was probably a little phased at first, but now she thinks it's funny. It's just the way I am. When one obsession ends, it's only when another begins. I've learned to deal with it.

My current obsession would be CSI. I know it's a crazy popular show and it's always #1 and all that, but I've never watched it. But I rented the third season on DVD and I've been hooked ever since. I've almost watched 3 whole seasons in 2 weeks. It might be a sickness.

Here's one of the reasons why I like it:

William Petersen is the supervisor guy, and I just love him! He's nifty. He also played Pat Garret in Young Guns 2, which gives him extra points with my dork-ass self.

I do that with DVD's a lot, especially with TV shows. I've watched 6 entire seasons of Friends in a matter of weeks. Also: My So Called Life, Six Feet Under, Sex and the City, Law and Order SVU, The West Wing. I'm just weird like that. As it is right now, I almost can't wait to go home and watch more of the CSI DVD's I have waiting for me.

I've noticed that the TV shows I get into the most are those that feature people who are really good at their jobs. I guess I admire them for being good, because I too would like to be good at a job.

And this whole Velvet Revolver thing.. everytime I think about the concert I get excited all over again, thinking about how close I was to such complete and total greatness, and then I get a little sad because it's over and probably won't happen that way again. And today I've been reading articles about them and doing some more obsessing.

I love how rock isn't dead. People say that, and it might have been true when we were all going through the Boy Band thing, but I think it's back. Their album debuted at #1 last week and this week it's at #3. The Guns N Roses Greatest Hits album is still in the top forty (#27, actually) after 13 weeks. That is exciting to me. That excites my nipples.

And the band itself is interesting to me. At the concert, you could tell that they were all having a good time up there, that they were proud that this band of 4 guys that were once Super Powers (plus poor Dave Kushner) could still have an affect on people. And you could see that there's no animosity or tension between them.. when I watched the Guns N Roses concert video from '92, you could just tell it was all about Axl and everyone else was just backing him up. It's not like that here.. you get the feeling of total respect and chemistry. I dig that.

I don't know why I feel so passionate about this, but I just do. I am really excited that I can turn on the radio and not have to listen to a bunch of boy band crap anymore. This is a real band, and they are making an impact on the music world, and that rocks.

It makes my opinion on Axl change a little. It makes me feel sorry for him.. I mean, just release the album, weirdo! I won't ever turn my back on him completely.. I've tried, but it just doesn't work that way. But he really could learn a lot from his past bandmates.

Could I BE any dorkier?

In other news, Matt just CALLED me and asked me out to a SOCIAL OCCASION tonight! Wow.. the planets have shifted and the polar ice caps have melted. Although that does mean I can't go home and watch CSI. Damn.

Also, I have the worst cramps IN THE WORLD right now.

Oh, and I'll be in Las fucking Vegas a week from today. My mom and my stepdad and I will be staying at the Golden Nugget, the hotel currently being featured a reality TV show. That, my friends, means I'm cool. So cool.

One more thing: Son in Law was on TBS this morning. Yeah, man! I'll be seeing Pauly Shore TOMORROW! The land of obsessions never closes.

Also, the 27th is my Diaryland 3 year anniversary. I expect flowers.

****

a year ago..

"I need to stop thinking about anal sex in holy places, that's the point I'm trying to make here. Sorry, God. Really, I am. I suck at this purity thing."



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004