baby maybe someday
February 26, 2004 Splat.

I hate job interviews.

They're so contrived and bullshitey, and they don't ask the right questions, and the interviewers are so drunk on their own power that they are full of self rightousness and therefore intimidate the interviewee who just wants a fucking job that doesn't involve sitting at a desk and filing all day. I know they have more people to interview, and I know they have to make a choice between all these people, but can't we make the questions more relevant to society?

Yesterday I was asked how I handled stress. I think the question should be "Do you own a gun, and if you do, are you going to take it out and shoot everyone if you get stressed out?" Or, "When you get stressed, are you just going to shut down and start crying, or are you going to handle it like a man and just plow through and deal with it?" I think that right there is a relevant question.

I'm just saying, let's think out of the box here. Let's use our heads and think of better ways to interview. Let's ask different questions. Like, seriously? I don't know how I'd handle a client who's flipping out about an ad that we already sent to the printers, because I've never been in that situation before.

I hate interviews, if you couldn't tell. I've had so many of them in the past year, and most of them have not worked out for me. I need to read a book or get interview brain surgery or something. Better yet, I shall enter my time portal and take myself back to 1993 and junior high and instead of crying and talking on the phone and trying to find places to get groped by various boyfriends, I'll study instead. Hey! There's a concept.

Anyway. I filed a lot today. I downloaded more songs from that which is the greatness of IMesh. I talked to Matt a little, got a little annoyed with him because he's all about the nookie, less about parading me out in front of his friends. But then I just shrugged. I still have thoughts of Gordo to marinate on. In fact, I dreamt about him all night. You know what dreamt about? I dreamt that his father died! Why would I dream that? That is disturbingly strange. The obsession is slowly, SLOWLY fading away, but oh lord is it still there.

It's time to go home now, though. So this was a little experiment in writing differently than how I usually do. Did it come across that way at all? Kill me now. Tomorrow is casual Friday, tonight is another new mediocre Friends episode, and I'm going to have Ice Cream for dinner.

The good news is that my boss felt sorry for me because I'm totally and completely broke and gave me my check a day early. Aww yeah. And instead of it only being for a week like I thought it would be, it's for 2 weeks. So let's all let out a big sigh of relief, shall we?

*sigh of relief*

Okay then. Why am I still here?

*****

What was Liz doing a year ago?

"I'm starting to think that I'm missing some big greater picture here. Like there's a key I need to open my life, and I can't find the key because it's buried under the pile of shit that keeps burying me under my past.

I'm starting to think that I'm missing some big greater picture here. Like there's a key I need to open my life, and I can't find the key because it's buried under the pile of shit that keeps burying me under my past. "



back & forth random
recently...

So be it! My last entry ever. - November 16, 2004
701 - October 17, 2004
Buh bye: An Austinliz thesis - October 03, 2004
war of the roses - October 01, 2004
fucking debate! - September 30, 2004